Jazz and Ballet

Ballet to jazz music, that’s what I’d like to see. Don’t get me wrong, I love traditional ballet set to classical music, I did it for a good number of years as well. There just happens to be a tremendous amount of jazz pieces that I would love to see that flow of elegance and power found in ballet be displayed. They both tell a story, jazz and ballet, and I yearn that juxtaposition. Classical music is fine when it comes to storytelling, but I think the contrast between jazz and ballet would tell a powerful tale as well (and possibly in a relatively unsuspecting way).

For now I shall sit here listening to jazz and choreographing ballet masterpieces in my head, hoping that some day someone will think these thoughts as well and make it happen.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a comment